My Custom Planner

I’m a sucker for organization hacks, and in a city as crazy as Hanoi, with my schedule constantly changing, I was really starting to fall behind and lose motivation without any sort of planner in reach.
I have tried planners before (haven’t we all) but sometimes I think they’re too bulky, and I only end up using half of it, and stop soon enough. I needed something that was easy to plan and take notes in. So I started researching.
Drawing from inspiration from Erin Condron, and the Bullet Journal concept, I decided to create my own personalized planner. This way, I choose the layout, the format, the style, colours, everything!
The Erin Condron planner looked great, but I wanted something even more me, and even more customizable. The bullet journal is closer to the one I have now, but the one I have now is 100% me.

Disclamer: I’m not very good at arts and all that and this is NOT ‘neat’ or very pretty. But it works for me, and it is me. I know it could be neater and prettier, but I don’t do this planner for the blog, I do it for me, and this is how it is.

img_6272
This is the notebook I picked up from my local stationary shop. It’s a small book, A5, and it only has 48 pages. This way, my small planner fits everywhere. And soon when I hate the layout, I will be onto a new notebook and changing it all up! (I won’t lie I bought 2 new ones already)

img_6289

 

14625506_1427068290653935_1759761515_nimg_6291-1

So I started off this notebook with a single page that says simply ‘Millie’s Notebook’. On that page I have put an envelope I made that has all my ‘stickers’ in it. (I print out my own stickers on paper and cut and glue them in)

 

 

img_6274

The first page after that has my weekly schedule, where I put all my permanent shifts. It’s messy because in reality, nothing is permanent. Especially in this country, things change every day… >

After this, I write down all the hours I work in a month. This has helped me keep track better than any method I have ever used. Here I’ve inserted a photo from last month.

img_6275

I have used the next few pages for little notes and designs that I won’t go into (boring stuff). Some notes I took at a meeting, some travel recommendations, and a page of all the things I’m grateful for
One of my random pages is actually a really helpful one for me because every time someone comes to visit me here in Hanoi, I literally forget everything there is to do. So I made this reference sheet for when people come, and I can always add things on the go! This will move with me to the next notebook too.

img_6278

As you can see, I’ve separated the pages into different lists; to do, to eat, to see etc.
I also have a book list of books that have been recommended that I want to read, I colour in a heart when they’re read.
img_6279

After all my note takings and random lists that help me to survive, I start my actual weekly and monthly planner. This has been helping me so much with deadlines etc that I need to remember.

I set out my monthly planner over two pages like so:

 

October Monthly Plan

In the monthly plans, I have my goals, a main shopping list, blog ideas, a quote of the month, and my most important dates.

My weeklies I still haven’t decided on. I change it every week. But you know what… that’s the great thing about a custom planner is I can change it whenever I want!

 

Honestly the customisable planner has changed my life. It makes it so easy for me to take notes and plan ahead in one go, as well as being my own creation, which makes me want to use it more!

Thanks for reading guys! Comment below, what are your favorite organization hacks?

14542686_1418760548151376_724090821_n

 

Leave a Reply

